What would you do?

LauraMax

Cathlete
OK this is a little personal & long, but there's always such great support & advice on this board, so I'm soliciting your opinions.

A few of you may know I have psoriasis (hence the year round tan). I've been fighting it for more than 25 years. Tanning (costs money & time, not to mention the cancer risk), creams, fighting w/the insurance company to get my meds.

During the last 10 years or so there have been new, "systemic" drugs used to treat psoriasis. Most of them carry a high risk of lymphoma so I've resisted, but I'm losing this battle & it's exhausting me.

There's one drug that does not carry a risk of cancer, but there are 2 side effects that are bugging me. The first is a very high risk of birth defects, which I'm not so concerned about b/c I'm 38 & I can't even get a date, much less get pg.

The second is hair loss. Something like 50-75% of people who take this drug experience hair loss. It's completely freaking me out. On the other hand, the drug is like 80% effective for clearing up psoriasis.

Yeah I'm really vain, & I can't stand the thought of my thick, curly hair thinning. But b/c I'm really vain the skin problem makes me crazy too, not to mention the expense, time & frustration that goes along w/it.

What would you do? Would you go on the drug & hope that you're among the 25% who don't lose their hair? Or would you stay off the drug & continue the fight?

It's not permanent hair loss is is? If not, I'd take the drug and opt for a short cute pixie cut until you're off the drug.

Carolyn

Ummmmm, sorry, but I would not want to lose my hair. I worry enough with dyeing my hair once a month, and it has thinned out alot just from that over the years, but that is just me. You have thick hair, right? Well it doesn't matter cuz you might lose alittle gradually or you could lose alot...I wouldn't take the chance myself. Bald is beautiful for some, but you got beautiful hair, Laura. Don't take the chance. JMHO