Studying to be Certified

S

sandra murphy

Hi, everyone. I post occasionally, but read (lurk) often. I love this site. I am so EXCITED because in July at the age of 48--I plan to PASS my certification exam as a personal trainer. I just finished CPR/First Aid certification and have been studying every night(almost) since Nov 99. My specialty is nutrition and I don't plan to train anyone; I'm doing this as a personal goal, but it's so fun and I'm very interested in the books and study that I'm doing. I'm certifying with ISSA, International Sports Sciences Association and with ACE. ISSA gives a little more emphasis on weight training but also covers the overall picture and ACE has the name. I just decided it would be fun to acomplish as a personal goal since I've been working out 365 days a year since 1973.

Congratulations Sandra!

That is quite a goal accomplished!
I am certified as a group fitness instructor through AFAA and recently finished Module 2 for BodyPUMP certification. I teach twice a week as a hobby (this field makes no money) and I thoroughly enjoy it. I *borrow* tons of choreography from Cathe!
As for ACE, in this field they are considered among the elite for certifications, along with ACSM. A few years ago, I too was going to certify with ACE in Personal Training, I felt AFAA has more of a group fitness emphasis. Isn't fun studying about things you love??
Have Fun and Take Care,
Myra

Are these courses online....?

Hi,

I would like to know if these courses are online with a couple of contact classes or if you have attend classes regularly.
I am very much interested in getting certified but am unable to spend too much time outside home.
Thanks for any information.

Hi, April and Myra