? Self magazines 10 superfoods

DebD

Cathlete
Does anyone have this month's Self magazine with the list of the 10 superfoods? Could you please list them? Thanks so much.

Debbie D'Angelo

1. Black tea
2. Celery
3. Cherries
4. Edamame
5. Mushrooms
6. Onions
7. Pomegranate juice
8. Quinoa
9. Sunflower seeds
10. Whole-grain cereal

I was disappointed with the list and the reasons- I'm glad I didn't buy the magazine for the list- I have a subscription. I couldn't believe spinach and blueberries weren't on there!! They're on all the lists. It's on page 192 if you have the magazine.

>1. Black tea
>2. Celery
>3. Cherries
>4. Edamame
>5. Mushrooms
>6. Onions
>7. Pomegranate juice
>8. Quinoa
>9. Sunflower seeds
>10. Whole-grain cereal
>

I'm surprised it's "black" tea and not green or white.

Cherries ahead of blueberries? Did they say why?

I can somewhat understand the omission of spinach: it does have oxalic acid that can hinder the absorption of some nutrients.

And why whole grain cereal (processed) rather than oatmeal? because of the added vitamins and minerals?

Celery? I thought that was pretty nutrient poor? Good as far as calories (not many, in fact, some say it uses more calories to digest than it provides, but you'd have to eat a truckload for that to have any effect on weight loss). It definitely is not as nutritious as, say, sweet potatoes, which didn't make the list.

Any particular mushrooms? Shitake are more nutritious than plain ole button.

Hmmm...looking at the list, I'm imagining some kind of quinoa pilaf with onions, celery, mushrooms, sunflower seeds. Wonder if I have all those ingredients around?

On the other hand, yay for pomegranate juice (I have it in my mornig smoothies) and quinoa (makes a great, higher protein substitute for bulghar in tabooleh--or however that's spelled!).

1. black "can be just as good as green since it comes from the same antioxidant-rich plant that produces the green variety"