Red wine?

Lex411

Cathlete
Ok, I have always been more of a sweet-booze gal, but recently my palate has changed and I am starting to appreciate the less sweet varieties. For example, now I really like a glass of really good single malt scotch with a splash of Pellegrino. And whereas I only used to like sweeter white wines, like Chardonnays, I just tried a Kendall Jackson Merlot at NYE dinner and loved it.

Anyone out there have suggestions about some good red wines for me to try or buy? I'm new to that world and I'd like to learn more and expand my tastes.

Here's a couple...

Murphy Goode Merlot

Rodney Strong Merlot

and if your budget can't take these, good old Bolla Merlot is very fine for everyday. I used to like Cabernet Sauvignon exclusively, but now I like the rounder, smoother finish of the merlots.

Bolla also makes a good Valpolicella as well, for everyday drinking.

RE: Here's a couple...

wow, thank you so much for the recommendations. I'll go wine shopping this weekend and might treat myself to 2 bottles so I can try more than one.

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON Jan-03-01 AT 10:18AM (Est)[/font][p]Hi Lex,
My favorite Merlot is an Itailian Wine made by Eco Domani (spelling??). Usually about $7 to $9 a bottle. Another slightly sweeter and usually smoother wine is a Shiraz. I haven't tried a whole lot of brands in the Shiraz wines.

Dawn W

Ooooh, my favorite subject (almost!)

My favorite subject next to working out of course! :D

The Murphy Goode is a great suggestion as is the Rodney Strong.

Some of my favorites are:

*Fife Red Zinfandel "Redhead": Love it! Hard to find sometimes though (not to be confused with 'white' zinfandel)

*Sterling Cabernet (or Merlot): also love this one too. Actually I don't think I've ever had a Sterling I didn't like - either red or white. :)

*Franciscan Cabernet: One of my all time favorites

*Kenwood Cabernet: Yummy!