Pure Strength vs Slow & Heavy

Jeanne

I'm new to Cathe and need some advice. First of all I'm 52 and just trying to get back into shape after a 2 year slug cycle. I've used "Firm" tapes since about 1987 but now I only use them for cardio and I alternate the Pure Strength series afterward. I'm trying to burn fat with the cardio and build muscle with the Pure Strength. Should I be doing Slow and Heavy too? What's the difference between Pure Strength and Slow and Heavy? The descriptions sound very similar. I have bad knees and am looking at Ellipticals to replace some of the cardio workouts. I think it will reduce some of the stress on my aging joints. I'm hanging in there by using Ace wraps on both knees while I workout. Am I on the right track?

RE: Pure Strength vs S and H

If you're trying to BUILD muscle then I strongly recommend adding slow and heavy to your rotation. Its the only routine that has actually added muscle mass for me. (Others have been able to build with PS but not me.) I use it for a week or two about every 4-6 weeks, then use other strength tapes in between to maintain. I'm 46 and at this age it has become a lot harder to build muscle mass than when I was younger. I think S and H differs from PS and all of Cathe's other weight tapes in the way it works muscle due to the ultra slow reps. I only do cardio twice a week now because strength training and Pilates has been wonderful to keep me in shape. The cardio was too hard on my hips, knees and feet to keep doing 4-5 times a week. I also walk almost every day, very gentle to the joints. I've used an elliptical when I belonged to the gym, it seemed pretty gentle to the joints as well.
Beth

The Slow and Heavy series is excellent, but I really urge you to get some professional advice regarding your knees. S & H legs has far fewer reps than PS legs, but you go very slowly and use a lot of weight.

It might be that you'll need to use gym equipment for the lower body