New to Cathe, need to lose 50 lb

swimnfit

Cathlete
Hi Cathe!

I'm new to your workouts although I am being educated quite quickly through your forums. I have about 50 lbs to lose to get myself back where I should be after gaining steadily over the past 8 years. I was in good shape in the past, but life intervened and, well, I think many of us have been there. I'm hoping to lose 25-30 this summer and the rest by the end of the year, if not sooner.

I could really use your help in developing a rotation to help me lose this excess weight. I would consider myself a low intermediate at this point as I have managed to keep exercising regularly despite the weight. I currently do cardio 3 days a week and a total body weight training workout 2 days a week.

I have several of your workouts that I have not used yet because I also ordered the whole set of your new DVD's and I'm waiting for those to arrive :) . In addition to the new DVD's, I have PS, ME, Timesaver, AbHits and Cardio Hits and can't wait to use them all!
Also, I would like to incorporate some walk/run (to eventually become all run) training 3 times a week if possible. I have a hour or possibly more per day to devote to my workouts. I am very highly motivated and would really appreciate your input!

Thanks Cathe!
Nicole

Hi Nicole! You sound like you have done your homework and set up a good foundation for what you are wanting to accomplish...GREAT:)

I think in addition to your fitness program you should also get the feedback and assistance of a registered dietician. You can locate them in your local yellow pages. Once you show them your workout program, they can work with you one on one and make sure that you have a healthy eating plan to support your energy output.

I would suggest that you start easily and work your way up in intensity. Here is a suggestion:

First Three Weeks:

Mon: New DVD #1/Basic Step
Tues: New DVD #1/Upper body Sculpt
Wed: New DVD #1/ Basic step
Thurs: New DVD #1/Lower Body Sculpt