new runner - knee question

Michele S

Cathlete
Hi all!

I'm just starting out on a running program - taking it slow - but my knees are really sore. Is this just a matter of them gaining strength or is it a sign that my knees can't take running? I'm just getting back into working out again after having a baby in May so I don't know if I'm just really out of shape or what!?!x(

Thanks!

Are you running in good shoes? Sometime knee pain can signal worn out or the wrong type of shoe. Are you also walking with your running?

Carole & Suz -

My shoes are fairly new, but it probably is time for a good pair - especially if I plan to stick with the running! I'm following the beginner's plan from Runningworld.com and am on my 4th week which is running for 3 minutes, walking for 1 for a total of 20 minutes. I'm warming up and cooling down with 5 minutes of walking. I'm also starting out on a treadmill, but plan to go outside once it cools down a little.

I'm going to go out this weekend and get me some new sneaks!!!

Where does it hurt? Outside knee, inside, behind the knee, knee cap? Depending where it is, you may just need to stretch better. Your IT Band may be too tight and when that happens, it grinds on the knee and causes horrible pain.

Every time I take up running after having been away from it for a while, my knees hurt the first few weeks. Make sure you're thoroughly warmed up with a good 5 to 10 minute brisk walk first, then, start running. If this doesn't go away after a few weeks, you will want to see a doctor. If you do not lift regulary, adding lower body weights to your routine can also help by building up the muscles around the knees and taking pressure off your knees. Good luck and keep us informed! Feel free to stop by the Cheetah Check in for tips and advise as well! We're a friendly group and we're all levels.

to Imafitnessfreak...

>Where does it hurt? Outside knee, inside, behind the knee,
>knee cap?