my quads are huge..HELP!!

I have been working out for sooo long (10 yrs).. on an 8 in step for cardio, and I was wondering, if I dropped the height to 6 in, would it a) reduce the intensity of the workout b) reduce the effectiveness of the workout, and lastly c) have any bearing on minimizing the size of my quadriceps?? I have alot of strength in my legs, I can diet without a hassel, and I have no problem going heavy when needed.. but the cardio on the 8 inch step is the only thing I can think of that might be a deterrent in leaning them out.. I have a lot of definition(ok, so maybe a fat layer, but damn.. my legs are big)-- is it possible to drop the step height down on my cardio without forsaking the benefits? I also crosstrain with kickboxing and hi and lo, but still have all this size.. running,perhaps? I love my tapes!! Please dont say running.. I need these legs a little more lengthy.. any suggestions? and I train them with light weights when doing leg work, after going heavy, and experimenting if that would even downsize them.. I am at my wits end!!! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.. from anyone.. By the way, I also have used the Firm tapes, but I didnt find the light weight high rep thing to make that much of a difference in downsizing them either.. damn genetics I suppose.. but isnt there a way to fight this just a little?

I vary my step height