Kidney stones

lesliemarie

Cathlete
I need some advice, My hubby landed in the Emergency room most of the day on Thanksgiving with a kidney stone. They loaded him up on pain meds and sent him home and said it will pass, so far nothing. And he is in pain and drinking TONS of water but the cranberry juice makes him nauseated. Is there a way to make this stone pass more quickly and a way to ease his misery? Has anyone gone through this? My heart is just breaking because I can't really help him more than I am already doing to make him more comfortable.

Hi,
I am a nurse, the only thing I can tell you is for him to drink a least 3 liters of water a day, I know that is a lot but he needs the extra fluid to pass the stone. He should continue his pain meds as needed also. Does he have a follow up visit with a urologist, just to check and he also should strain his urine to make sure he passes the stone. Hang in there, this is supposed to be one of the most painful things, I also had one so I can sympathize.
Phyllis

how long does it take to pass it? he is straining his urine and all but I am getting so worried because he is so sick:( he is my best friend and I hate to see his so sick. it has now been three days. he was taking coral calcium, you think that caused this?

OH NO!!!!!! I had a kidney stone about 6yrs ago and I thought I was going to DIE! Alot of people say that it is worst the child labor.I have been through both and I don't think there is much differnce.
My stone was only a small one,they said when I passed it I wouldn't even know b/c it was so small.It didn't feel very small.Sure enough,I never did know when I passed it.I was only 19 when that happened to me.I haven't had one since.