Instructor question for you Cathe

roeyk

First of all, I just received 4 day split this week and really love the diversity! I teach a morning Boot Camp class and the drills are just what is needed to start spicing things up. High Intensity Step really got my creative juices flowing. Love the crazy crosswalk! And just a few weeks ago when I was teaching a step class, I used one of your moves - "Step knee, walk back and around" - and a woman yelled out CATHE! We chatted about you during the entire cooldown in between cues.

On to my question. I've been teaching group exercise for almost 12 years and in all that time, I have never experienced what I am about to write in any venue I have taught in, either commercial or corporate. In short, there is one particular participant who always stands in front of me (and slightly to the left) during classes. Why she doesn't stand behind me like the rest of the class I have no idea, but I find her presence to be intrusive, distracting, and somewhat rude since she is directly in my way most of the time and I have to move around her. And if she messes up the choroegraphy so do I! I just started teaching at this health club in March and don't feel comfortable even politely asking her to change her position to behind me versus in front. She has a condescending tone to her voice when she speaks and has often told me how to teach my class (pitch the music up or down, decrease the repetitions in choreography, etc.). When she does not attend class I actually breathe a huge sigh of relief! The fitness director knows she can be a problem but has not confronted her despite my commentary - and this woman wouldn't dare to act in the same manner in the fitness director's class (according to other participants who know her). As a professional with many years experience with both teaching and management, do you think I'm a bit overboard or would this bother you as well? It doesn't matter if the class is full or not, she has marked her workout t