For Hemp Eaters

ZT27

Cathlete
Hi,
I bought some bagels by French Meadow with mostly hemp in it. Forgot what it's called. Is hemp supposed to smell bad? Whenever I toast it, it comes out smelling kind of fishy. The taste is pretty decent. Not my favorite taste but good enough to eat if I ignore the flavor a bit. LOL What I do LOVE, LOVE about the hemp is my energy really skyrocket. Not too many food do that to me. Also, does the hemp powder taste awful? I found some at Wild by Nature the other day but didn't buy it as I was not sure if it tastes kind of bad. Any input is appreciated.

Lisa :)

Hi Lisa,

I've been using Hemp Powder in smoothies for a couple of years now, and it definitely doesn't taste bad - kind of nutty, actually. It is the Nutiva brand, I believe. I don't use the full amount they recommend, though, only because it bothers my stomach a little bit. I've never noticed a fishy type smell, but toasting anything brings out weird flavors every now and again :).

Sara

Yes, I agree abouth those French Meadows Hemp Bagels. They do smell fishy. I try to slather on some nut butter to cover the smell. But I eat them anyways when I need a quick shot of protein. I don't know what to do about the fishy smell.
Manmohini

There are definitely differences in hemp powder. Some tastes like a combo of 'green' and dirt. My favorite (non-green, non-dirt-tasting) is Nutiva hemp powder. I wouldn't blend it with water and drink it that way: mixing it with fruits and other more flavorful ingredients will help disguise any taste you might find unpleasant.

As for hemp smelling fishy, I'd never noticed. Maybe it's an oil scent? And it may take a bit to get used to the flavor.

I've recently found some hemp 'milks,' which also vary in taste. One brand tasted unpleasant and had a thick, unpleasant texture. Another brand, Living Harvest, (that comes in vanilla, regular and chocolate) tastes really good.