Extra Cardio Effecting Muscle Gains?

Hello everyone. I am currently doing a rotation that focuses on heavy weights and little cardio. However, I have started incorporating extra cardio at night (20-30 mins) when I eat too many sweets (this usually happens 1-2X a week).

I have read recently on this forum that too much cardio can have a negative effect on how much muscle you gain. How does this work and is an extra hour or so of cardio a week too much?

Also, the extra cardio consists of either kickboxing, running, or cycling (no step). Thanks.

Swayze

I'm far from an expert, so take this with a grain of salt. :)

I am trying, like you, for muscle gains, and have stepped (pun intended) back on my cardio so that all the calories that I consume are feeding my muscles. It seems to be working.

I do upper body training one day, then cardio and lower body training the next. Rinse and repeat.

I have actually even lost some body fat since starting this routine. I was a doubting Thomas, until I was forced to reduce my cardio. (That's a whole 'nother story.) I always thought that the more cardio you do, the more fat you burn, but it seems that I was doing too much and my body was storing extra fat for energy. May I take this opportunity to say, "You were right. I was wrong. Thank you, ladies!" This thread is no longer hijacked. :+

I am doing Cathe's circuit rotation this month after doing a month of heavy lifting and I am definitely noticing that too much cardio is making me lose muscle. My body fat is much higher this month than last month when I was doing heavy lifting and less cardio. I really love the rotation but am unhappy about the higher body fat. I have decided to scale back one of the cardio days and do some yoga or leg work instead.

Marcy