Dumbbell storage

nancy324

Cathlete
I've been working with PS now for about two months. I started with 3 and 5 lb. weights and added 8 and 10 lb. dumbbells as I went along, and my barbell. I think it may be time now for me to buy 12 and 15 lb. dumbbells. Does anyone know of a dumbbell stand or holder that would keep all of these dumbbells neatly in one place in my living room. They're not all the same brand. Something that sits on the floor would be good. Thanks for your suggestions.

Hi Nancy:
I have the same problem - I have to store my dumbbells in my livingroom too. Because my husband lifts along with Cathe and me, I have more than 400 pounds of dumbbells to store!

I solved the problem quite attractively by purchasing a large retangular wicker basket (about 15" high, 21" wide and 26" long). The basket has a flat bottom. I stack the weights inside and then cover the top with a small throw blanket and I pile a couple of throw pillows on top. I looks like the basket is just filled with extra pillows. So many people have commented on how nice the basket looks. They are quite surprised to find out what's inside.

I got the basket from TJMaxx for about $20 or so. It was a lot cheaper than a weight rack and it looks a lot cuter too.

Hope this idea helps

Debbie Russo

Hi Anna,

Great question. The basket sort of sits in the corner out of the way so the answer is no. However I tried once to "scoot" it over so that I could get my weight lifting glove (which fell behind the basket). I couldn't move it an inch. I don't even want to know what the carpet looks like under the basket. :eek:

This set up has worked great for me. I also store about 200 pounds of plate weights under my bed along with 2 step benches (lucky for me I have a king-size bed).

I store 2, 6' bars behind my bedroom door. When you live in a small place you gotta be creative.

Take Care,
Debbie Russl

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON Oct-10-02 AT 04:44PM (Est)[/font][p]Nancy-