divorce and attorneys

Faithnveggies

Cathlete
Vague sorta question here in order to not put too much personal biz on the internet, but...

Have been working w/ divorce attys and we've reached an impasse. Next move is mediation. Starting to cost $$$$$ and I would like to avoid more of that. What about shifting to mediator sans attys?? That just doesn't seem like the best move, and I value my atty but the direction I am going in is looking really pricey. Thoughts or experiences anyone wants to share?

Jody, DX and I used a mediator for our divorce and I'm glad we did. It wasn't expensive at all and it didn't have that feeling of painful opposition that you can get with lawyers. Not saying it was easy. Not saying I wouldn't change a few things - one of those wish I knew then what I know now kinds of things. But. It was worth it in my experience.

Jody, if you think you can settle your issues in mediation, then do it. I work in the legal field, and I date an attorney, and we've seen a few divorces, professionally and personally (we're both divorced). They can get extremely expensive, (like 80k+ expensive!) and it's usually because people are fighting over silly things. I work in bankruptcy right now, and I'm seeing alot of petitions of divorcees with legal fees owed on them. Try to settle rationally outside the courts, if you can. Unless there are custody issues involved, fighting over the material things are just not worth it. (And that's coming from my personal experience.)

My boyfriend likes to say two things regarding divorce battles that you might want to keep in mind:

1. "The only people who win in divorce battles are the attorneys." and,
2. "You can put your kids through college, or you can put mine through college."