Cathe on Discovery Health Channel

Amy2

I have been doing 30 minute segments of pure stength and interval max (it alternates day to day)that is broadcast on Discovery Health Channel. I was wondering what I could do to keep my heart rate going during the commercials. I am very new to Cathe's workouts, so I am not familiar enough with the routines to remember the steps during the breaks. This may be a stupid question, but I have just started exercising(trying to loose that extra skin from having my second baby boy this past summer)and need the advice.

Also, I was curious as to what the VF Road Trip is. Thanks to anyone who can help!

Hi Amy!

Nice to have you with us. I'm so happy that you are exercising with our Discovery fitness program. I'm also very happy that you have made a commitement to get fit. First I must say congratulations on your baby boy. I just had one two months ago myself.

The best advice I can give you to get in shape, is to start out slow. 30 minutes a day is a great start. As for doing Intervalmax and the pure strength workouts on the Discovery show, try to keep your weight workouts somewhat on the lighter side for a couple of weeks to get used to working with weights. For the Intervalmax days, well, thats a tough workout. I would encourage you to keep the highest intensity portions of those intervals at a moderate pace. Work up to this intensity gradually so you don't risk getting an injury. On days where you want to do something a little different, try going for 30 minute brisk walks(no stopping). Eventually you may even want to mix some light jogging in with those walks. Alternate your walk days with weight training too.

What to do during the shows commercials to keep your heart rate up: You can pick one of your favorite moves during the moderate portion of the intervals and do it until the show comes back on. Or you can try to do a few of these moves:

1) step hop corner to corner. I may refer to it as basketball corner to corner.