Cathe, diastisis recti question

Bamagirl

Hi Cathe,
I remember reading one of your previous posts in which you discussed that you had to deal with diastisis recti post partum. My little guy is just over 10 weeks and although I was able to start exercising again soon after receiving the new series (I've definitely had to work up to them - thanks so much for including such a variety of premixes!), I've discovered that I also have a diastisis recti. Mine is a 2 finger widths separation directly underneath my navel. I'm a physical therapist and have a pretty good understanding of the anatomy, cause, recommended exercises, and precautions that go along with DR. However, I work in more of a rehab setting with elderly patients and don't have much firsthand experience treating this post partum condition. I wondered if there were any specific exercises that you found were more helpful than others in treating this, and how long it took before you felt your was healed? I've been really focusing on activating my transverse abdominals with all core work to prevent it from worsening (and hopefully help with the healing process). Thanks so much for any info you might be able to provide - you're truly an inspiration to all of us!:)

Rebecca

Hi Rebecca! Congratulations on your new bundle of joy!

I actually was never able to fully repair my split (above my navel) and have so far opted against a surgical repair because of how extensive and invasive it is.

I tried the recommended exercises in the book, Essential Postpartum Exercises, by Elizabeth Noble, who is also physical therapist and saw some improvement. I remember hearing that it is important to stay away from all exercises that would encourage the split (ie: oblique exercises and even daily living exercises such as reaching across to put on a seat belt or rotating your body to backout of a parking spot).