Can I Run???

fitmomof2

Hi Everyone --

I am getting ready to take on my next fitness challenge -- I want to run a 5k over Memorial Weekend and a 12K with my sister on 7/12. This is the deal -- I have never ever gone for a run/jog in my life, I have no form (so I think) and I guess I am looking for a little self confidence boost.

I work out 4 - 5 times per week everything from Cathe workouts to spinning to lifting wieghts and I have been doing that for 3 years now, pretty steady. And, I have signed up for my first Cathe roadtrip ever in July :)

I have signed up for a 5k training class being offered through the town and rec dept where I live and that starts on Wed.

What is everyone's advice to me including beginning web sites, clothes ;-), etc.... I already found a pair of running shoes based on some ideas from my sister but what else do I need to know??? Exactly, how hard is this -- if I can get throught Imax2, Step Blast, Body Max 2 can't I do this???

Thanks Everyone --

Yes, you can do this!! You are already starting out on the right foot! :p Signing up with a 5K training group is a great idea.

I ran in high school and pretty much came in last in every race. I stopped running and then started again in late 2007 (some 30 years later) and I haven't regretted. Is it hard? Yes! But I love entering races. I have done everything from a 5K to a 15K. I'm not the fastest runner but I have lots of fun and have met some really cool people!

Go for it!!!

If I can run, ANYONE can!

I ran the first mile of my life in November 08. I've always considered myself a pretty physically fit person, but running was not something that I really ever tried very hard to do. But once I had that first mile under my belt, I was hooked.

I got a good pair of running shoes and my dear hubby agreed to buy a treadmill. I didn't do any kind of formal training program, just ran until I felt like I couldn't run anymore. Yesterday I did 5 miles without stopping.