Calling All Kettlebell Experts

Nadja Z

Cathlete
I get the general idea of this workout and I've seen a few video previews. I'm wondering:

1. Has anyone noticed any joint/tendon issues with this? (I'm thinking elbow/wrist especially?)
2. Is it relatively easy to learn and maintain proper form? I have to be really careful with most upper body moves, it seems like my neck/trap area always wants to take over.
3. Any back issues?

I'm sure I'll just have to try it for myself to get an answer (maybe start out with Bento's new one?). Something about the way you're holding the kb with the handle and the way the weight switches from one side of your hand/arm to the other side makes the moves seem a bit out of control to me.

Also, in the previews I've seen, it seems like you do one move over and over and over, then move on to the next, I presume. Are the entire workouts like this? Anyone find them a bit boring?

Nadja

Hi Nadja,

I have been working with kettlebells for at least 2 years. I have not experienced any joint/tendon issues or issues with my elbow or wrist.

It was relatively easy for me to learn because I was taught by instructors at a fitness boot camp. I don't know how it would be if I had to learn it on my own. If interested, you might want to check to see if you can find any kettlebell instructors in your area and take a class.

I have had no back issues at all. In fact, there is evidence that working out with kettlebells actually strengthen and can help back problems. Of course, I can't verify that because I don't have any back issues.