what do you guys think of this?

Cbelle

Cathlete
So I posed this question to a wellknown fitness professional (who shall remain anonymous):

Should you approach your workouts differently depending on your goals i.e. to look like Cathe vs to look like Jennifer Aniston (cut vs toned)? Basically the age old heavy weights, light weights, lots of cardio, little cardio question.

His reply was

"Not really -- what you do is train like you want to look like Cathe Friedrich and when you have enough muscle you STOP striving for increases in muscle strength.

Strength=muscle

You maintain once you have the muscle you want.

If you find you are too CATHE and you don't want to be? Stop losing body fat. Easy to fix."

So I guess his answer is, train the same way (i.e heavy), just stop before you get too cut. Interesting.

I am not an expert by any means so I can't comment on the validity of what this person told you but I firmly believe that there is more than one way to get the results you are after. I think it all depends on each individual. This person has probably proven his/her method to work well and therefore believes in it but that doesn't mean that another person could not get the same results with a different method.

Just my 2 cents! :)

I guess I'm confused as to what you stop? Stop strength training altogether? Then what do you do to maintain? I'm just wondering what his advice was to maintain once you have what you want? Sorry...I'm just adding questions rather than answering any.:p

I got the impression it was stop lifting for gains and start lifting only for maintenance which I don't necessarily understand either I guess.

He also didnt address my cardio question in the equation.