Thyroid Disorder and weight loss

LynnFinn

Cathlete
Hi all,
I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism just last week. My TSH level was 8, where normal is 0.5 to 5.0. This might explain a lot of strange and uncomfortable physical symptoms that have occurred with increasing frequency over the last few years. The worst of which is slow, slow, slow weight loss, despite prudent and nutritional eating habits and vigorous exercise and weight training (using Cathe videos and going to a local Bally's).
I am to start on Synthroid, a thyroid hormone, tomorrow.
My query is this: Is there anyone else here on Cathe's forum who has been diagnosed with hypothyroid disease? Are you currently on Synthroid or another thyroid replacement drug? Has it helped? How has hypothyroid disease affected your weight fluctuations, and did the Synthroid help? (I am especially interested in increased metabolic function and energy levels.)
I am a nurse, so I'm very familiar with the disease and its treatment. What I am looking for is more anecdotal experiences with this disease and its cure.
Fortunately, my diagnosis is a primary hypothyroidism due to familial inheirited hypothyroidism, not because of a goiter or cancer. My mother has been on Synthroid for years and my sister was diagnosed about 18 months ago because she just couldn't seem to shed a 20 pound weight gain despite good nutrition and a vigorous daily running routine. Once on Synthroid, her extra weight came off and other minor hypothyroid symptoms disappeared.
Any opinions and/or experiences would be welcome.
It is one thing to be a nurse and to teach and care for other folks and their illnesses; it is quite another to suddenly BE a patient!
Thanks loads
Lynn F.