Steaming Veggies

kristi

Cathlete
I'm a complete novice when it comes to steaming veggies. I've owned my steamer for probably a year now and have only used it once, to steam broccoli. Can someone please give me some good ideas on how you steam veggies? What veggies do you eat? How do you flavor them? I normally spray my veggies with a low/no calorie butter spray. I would like to eat them in a healthy way, but for my kids I'm probably going to smother them in cheese. :)

Also, I've never ate squash before. Can it be steamed?

Thanks in advance for all of your help!!

You can pretty much steam any veggie (at least any that won't turn mushy, like tomatoes, for example), some (like squash) just take longer than others).

Just prepare the veggies so they fit in the steamer (I assume you are using a collapsible metal steamer, or a bamboo steamer?), and put the steamer in/over a pan of boiling water (you don't want the water to touch the veggies, but don't put in so little that it will all boil away). Then just steam until the veggies are bright colored and still a bit crisp (or softer, if you like. If you steam cauliflower until it's really soft, you can mash it to make a nice mashed potato substitute).

I usually don't flavor my veggies much, as I prefer their natural flavor, or combos of veggies. A squeeze of lemon, a bit of olive oil, maybe a sprinkle of herbs. Garlic and lemon go well with broccoli.

I usually steam broccoli or green beans. Let the water in the bottom of the covered pot start to boil, then turn off the heat and let the pot sit for 15 min or so. Try sprinkling them with some of the mixtures you can find in the spice section of the grocery store.