slightly sore knees

nik13

Cathlete
Hi

I have been working out with cathes tapes for a couple months, and in the last 2 weeks have been experiencing slightly sore knees. I went from the ctx series to circuit max, interval max and cardio kicks. What should I do. I took a couple days off. Do you think it could be my shoes? Or my weight, I am 65lbs overweight? They are walking shoes. I am going tonight to get a new pair. I was just starting to get some results. I hope I can continue with these workouts.

Any suggestions would be great!!
NIkki

aerobic shoes

I can't say for sure what the problem is, but you mentioned your getting new shoes. Make sure they are aerobic shoes and you just don't replace them with walking shoes. There is a difference. You need a shoe with good lateral support. They need to be able to take impact. That would be the first step. If you still have problems after resting and replacing your shoes, you'll need to lower your impact at least a few days a week, if not all of them. Let your body be your guide.
Dawn W

Hi Nikki!

I definitely think it could be your shoes. Is is VERY important that you have shoes that match your workout, such as jogging shoes for jogging, aerobic or crosstrainers for aerobics and step. Your walking shoes would be designed just for a heel-toe motion going forward & you need a design to meet your needs of impact, going side to side(lateral movement),pivots and so forth. Hope I caught you before you headed out to the store. Talk to the sale person and hopefully they can direct you in the right direction for what is appropriate for you!! Good Luck! I LOVE to get new shoes!! I'm a shoe addict!:D Your-Friend-In-Fitness, DebbieH :)

Ooops Dawn!

Sorry, I posted the same info at the same time as you. Your-Friend-In-Fitness, DebbieH :)

Hi Debbie, Happens to me all the time

And besides it just proves how true this is. Not to mention you gave a more detailed explaination then I did anyway.
Dawn W

Thanks,