need help from exercise instructors

Melinda65

Cathlete
Hi,

I've been teaching senior exercise classes for 2 years now and feeling like I'm in a slump. I want to do something different, but feel I've run out of ideas.

How do you put to gether new routines without them being the same old thing?

Thanks,

Melinda

Hi, Melinda! Depending on the mode that you're instructing, here are a couple of suggestions:

If you teach a cardio/toning format, consider switching to a toning/cardio format for a class-format change.

Again, without knowing what mode or modes you're instructing, if you're getting stale in the choreography department here's a trick that I've found useful (if a bit time-consuming) in the past to reshuffle things - LITERALLY:

Take all of your moves and steps, taking care to make them single moves (i.e. grapevine, chassee, step-turn, etc.), and write each and every one of them on a 3X5 file card. And separate arm movements from leg movements. Now, take the whole stack of file cards and shuffle them as if it were a deck of playing cards, and then take the newly shuffled stack by two-card or four-card, creating new combinations.

That might be the most helpful way especially with a senior class, where familiarity with specific movements is crucial for safety as well as effectiveness. Same moves, different combos. Never fails.

Also check out the Turnstep.com moves and patterns boards for ideas!

Hope this helps -

A-jock

Thank A-jock. Part of my problem is that I have to limit the moves for several reasons. 1. we are on carpet, so I don't like to have too many fancy foot moves that could get their feet caught on the carpet. 2. I may only have 1/4 of the class able to do certain moves and I don't want to alienate the rest 3. they just aren't able to do vary complicated things, so I have to keep it simple and this is where I'm getting bored.