Motivationally challenged

evsweet

I've been working out with Cathe for the past 8 years and up until the past year or so I was good at keeping up with my workouts. In fact, working out was something I used to look forward to. However, last summer I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism and I found myself struggling with feelings of exhaustion and depression (not to mention the 20 pound weight gain). I think I've finally found the right medication level, but my motivation to workout just hasn't returned. In fact, lately, I've found myself opting out of my workouts more often than not. It's so disappointing to struggle through workouts I used to find fun and doable and I also find the new HiiT and metabolic workouts dreadfully hard. I want to like them, but I don't.

Of course, the more I avoid working out the harder it gets. So I've tried to go back to my old favorite step routines and to add in some DVDs from other trainers to mix things up a bit - anything to get myself moving again. I know that I have to push through this tough spot to get back on course.

Any advice or suggestions from those who have had similar struggles? What helped you get back on track?

If you not been working out for awhile and have weigh gain then IMO cathe workouts would be exhausting and not fun. I would start out with just walking each day with a great playlist or biking. I know when I get off my advance workouts even for a few weeks. I take a week of intermediate stuff to get back up to speed for a hiit workout. I've in the past do to injury had to take off from cathe for several months. I was only able to spin/walk and do yoga. I missed my high octane kick ass cathe but my body just was not ready for the speed, endurance and advance level of workout. When I started back it wasn't with cathe cardio cause I just was not up to her level after being off for several months. I find spin bike the perfect thing for me to get back in the groove.