Is being a beachbody coach a scam?

A

amanda12485

I was thinking about becoming a coach, but i have heard this was a scam. Anyone dealt with this at all?

I don't think it is a "scam." However, many people liken it to a "pyramid scheme," which many think of as a scam. I don't know that it is worth the monthly "dues" for the discounts. I don't know that they are significant enough to offset the cost. I am sure money is made off the sale of products but it's not like there are new products coming out every couple weeks. I would think it is easier to grow a business selling something like Avon or Mary Kay. You get customers, they become repeat customers, you get new customers, etc. With BB, I think there is a limit to how many people are interested in the workouts and willing to pay.

Carrie

I'm a Coach and it's not a scam. It's no different than any other direct marketing/home based sales program. What you get out of it is based on your efforts.

I've never gotten hosed by BB w/ "hidden fees" or had commissions mysteriously "'lost." I'm not "pressured" to make a certain sales target every month. It's very upfront.

I'm very happy w/ my choice. My sister sells Mary Kay and she's happy w/ that. To each his own. :)

It's not a scam. It's multi-level marketing or MLM, which is a legal version of a pyramid scheme . BB is more upfront than some people and won't steal your money. What they are less open about is how you really make money being a coach. The people who signed up in 2006 are making the best money. They got in early and are at the top of the sales pyramid. The trick to making decent money is NOT selling BB products. It's getting other people to become coaches. The top tier of coaches, that is pretty much all they've ever done. They recruited other coaches who do their recruiting (and some selling) for them. So, there is a push to be a coach and get other people to be a coach.