Chiropractor for shin splints?

libra01971

Cathlete
I have horrible shin splints. I've been running for many years and get them constantly! I've tried everything from icing, massage therapy, orthotics, compression, rest for 6 weeks or more, new shoes, physical therapy, podiatrist, blah, blah, blah.... (Btw - A stress fracture was ruled out fairly recently although I realize it could still lead to that eventually) The only thing I haven't tried is custom orthotics but only because I've reached the point where I figure nothing will work so why dish out a ton of money?

Well, several distant friends have referred me to chiropractors. I blew it off because I'm not a big fan of chiros. I saw a chiropractor many, many years ago after a car accident and never felt like anything changed. Plus, I always thought that chiros more useful for back and neck issues. Recently, I saw someone on facebook make a comment on Cathe's page about a chiropractor fixing her shin splints. What do chiropractors do for shin splints? Anyone here ever had chronic shin splints successfully treated?? It makes me sad that something I love so much causes me so much pain!

On a side note - I guess I should include that I do have issues occasionally with my back and hip flexors. I realize it is possibly all related but I just hate the thought of weekly (or more frequent) PT visits. My lack of success with PTs and Chiropractors makes me very skeptical of them but I don't want to completely give up. There has to be something or someone to help me! :(

Tami (aka MaynardsMom) took her son during track season . I'm sure if she doesn't see this thread, she wouldn't mind you PMing her about it. It was very successful and I will take my daughter if she decides to run cross country as she was horribly afflicted with shinsplints last season!
Becky

Chiropractors are just people