Broke my Elbow!!

suzannaerin

Cathlete
Uggh, two weeks before I turn 40 and I decide to go ice skating (I'm a novice but can shuffle around the rink). Well, I got distracted by some kid taking a spectacular wipe out that I did a backwards belly flop onto the ice. It happened so fast that I didn't know I was down until I was flat on my back. Ouch. Landed first on my elbow because it's the only place I'm injured (I will never ever again complain about my Gin Miller-sized bum). Anyway, I have a very slight "closed" break to the radius, right near my elbow. It's barely visible on the xray, so I'm thankful. The good news: my orthopedist said no cast, no splint and he wants me to start rehab on my own to make sure my range of motion isn't affected. It hurts like the devil and much to my surprise, I don't have much mobility because it's swollen up. The bad news: no weight lifting on that side of my body (including leg work using a barbell, I suppose) for SIX weeks. I also have to take it easy doing aerobics and not really use my arms, which I couldn't if I wanted. I am trying to focus on the positive: I'll take this time to learn Christi Taylor tapes/DVD I own and have been to scared to try. Also, I figure my right side doesn't have to go to pot---I'll lift using moderate weights on my right side once a week and I'll do what leg work I can (leg extensions, I suppose). Any suggestions as to how I can get through the next six weeks? I know my muscle "memory" will be good because I've been lifting using Cathe's tapes for more than two years. It's just a bummer, knowing that I'm going to lose some tone and strength. Those of you who have gone through something similar---How did you survive and how long did it take you to get back to your pre-injury state? Thanks, Suzanne

No advice, just some sympathy. That sounds like a nasty injury, and one that will take a while to heal.

How about some ice for swelling?