one of my most embarassing non-athletic moments

Tallchick

Cathlete
Not that I am athletic, I really am not, but I was doing a Cathe this a.m., one with all her leaping and jumping and realizing that she started out with gymnastics, reminded me of one of those embarassing times. When I was a sophomore in high school, our year was forced into doing gymnastics. I hated all of it, I couldn't do any of it and all I wanted was out. One of those days, they forced us to do the uneven parallel bars. My 72" inches would not, could not allow me to move from one bar to the other. Two of the P.E. teachers were trying to force me over while I was screaming "NO NO NO". Everyone was watching, it was horrible. The next day, one of the teachers anounced that there was going to be a soccer group for anyone not interested in gymnastics. About 40 of us went for it. I like to think I was instumental in that. I realize that most gymnasts tend to be petite and I know that even if I was petite, I still wouldn't be able to do any of that. By the way, soccer was so much fun that I joined a soccer club for the next summer.
How about the rest of you, any athletic or P.E. horror stories???

The only thing I can think of right off hand: When I was in middle school (called Jr. High in my era) we had to take showers after P.E. Then, we had to "parade" past our P.E. teacher and if we weren't wet enough, she sent us back in to shower again. Remember how you used to shower in 5 seconds so no one saw you naked? Yep, that was me!!!
Your-Friend-In-Fitness, DebbieH (AKA "Den Mother Debbie")http://www.handykult.de/plaudersmilies.de/wavey.gif[/img] If You Get The Choice To Sit It Out Or Dance...I Hope You DANCE!!!

We didn't have to shower in Jr. High (I still call it that too, I will not give in). Can you believe what schools used to get away with in comparison to today? Count the lawsuits it you can!