How do you conquer a video?

Kath

Cathlete
I was feeling pretty confident about my strength gains until recently. My sculpting tapes are the wedding tape and firm volume I, and my jogging route is 4.5 miles. I thought I was ready to move up to MIS and Power Hour.

Wrong!!! PH just about killed me, what I managed to do of it, anyway. MIS I just watched in disbelief. But I really want to be strong enough to do these tapes. So how do you gradually build up the ability to do these? Should I stop the tape when I have to stop, or just join in when I can and let the tape continue? Or something else? I'd be very interested to hear what has worked for others, since we all had to start somewhere. Thanks all. Kath

Why not start out with light weights? Even 3's or 5's. Just to get used to the moves & sequences. Do what you can, rest when you need to, and join in when you're ready. Pause the tape when you need to rest, resume when you are ready. It's that simple! I've been lifting for 4 years. I'm a runner like you. I started with 3's & 5's, now I use 8,10,12,15,20# dumbells and 20,30 & 45lb plates on my barbell. Don't force yourself to lift too heavy, remember form & safety is everything. Your body will adapt and get stronger, and soon those 5's will be too light! Good luck & be careful. You can do it!

I agree with Marnie! Start light, start slowly, and you'll ease into these workouts. Listen to your body, take longer rests.
Be proud of yourself for however much you can do, at whatever weight. You don't have to lift heavy to get results.

Veronica