Cathe Friedrich Forums

Want our Forums on the go?
Get Cathe’s forum app for the iPhone, iPad or Android device.

 

Go Back   The Cathe Nation > Cathe Friedrich Fitness Forums > Cathe Downloads & Workout Blender Forum

Cathe Downloads & Workout Blender Forum This forum is for questions, comments and suggestions concerning our new Digital Download site (www.cathedownloads.com) with over 165 Cathe workouts for your IPod, IPhone, MP4 player, computer and Tv.

When is the Lion working and Beta 2.0 to be launched

This is a discussion on When is the Lion working and Beta 2.0 to be launched within the Cathe Downloads & Workout Blender Forum forums, part of the Cathe Friedrich Fitness Forums category;; I have purchased literally hundreds of Cathe downloads .. the decision to get the downloads and not the DVDs was ...

Like Tree3Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2012, 09:51 PM
imamac's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Default When is the Lion working and Beta 2.0 to be launched

I have purchased literally hundreds of Cathe downloads .. the decision to get the downloads and not the DVDs was because of the promise of the Workout Blender, and the ability to eventually share and download premixes.

Wondering when there will be a version that works with Lion? and also when the Beta 2 is coming out.

--
At this point I don't know if I should buy the downloads for the new videos or give up on Workout Blender altogether. 2 years is a long time to wait after purchasing my initial block of workouts.

As background:

It didn't work on my old iMac because of bugs such as this one
Error ffmpeg

I have since purchased a brand new top of the line iMac and it doesn't work because I am using Lion (soon to be updated to Mountain Lion).

I understand its Beta and free so not complaining about that side of it, but on the other hand this was sold as a "feature" of buying the downloads (that it will work together with the blender...)

Any thoughts from Cathe's team? Are you committed to getting this working?

I am asking sincerely as I am about to buy the XTrain series and need to make a decision. Is Workout Blender going to be a supported product? in the sense that I can open a ticket and have some confidence it will be addressed?

Sincerely,

--
imamac
VeggieGal likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:40 PM
Curt Kapus's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 297
Default

Hi imamac,

I'm a Mac, too, so can understand your frustration in waiting for a fully-functional version of the Workout Blender...and I'd love nothing more than to get on the forums and tell everyone that it is released! However, at this point we are stuck waiting for other independent developers to update the libraries that are incorporated into the Blender that are used for re-encoding video, and yes, these are the same libraries that you reference with FFMPEG. Unfortunately, the software that does these conversions is extremely complex and is nothing that we can create ourselves, so we rely on the only publicly-available solution, FFMPEG, to do our re-encoding. The libraries as they stand now contain a bug when used with 64 bit systems such as Mac Lion or Mountain Lion, and Vista and Windows 7 64 bit versions, that causes the audio and video to drift out of sync or to fail to encode altogether. This problem is not evident in the 32 bit version of FFMPEG. This is why it worked on older Mac and Windows systems where the calls were being made to the 32 bit version opposed to 64 bit. So we can only wait for those developers to update their software before we can update ours.

On the up side, please check my response here: For Users with 80% Complete or Videos Not Importing Problems
about my experience so far with Mountain Lion. It's not all bad!

To answer your question, yes, we are completely committed to getting the Workout Blender to work correctly, but we too are stuck waiting. We are investigating other solutions for re-encoding, but all so far involve having to charge for it because the software that we would need to include (Quicktime Pro from Apple) costs upwards of $30 per installation for licensing.

Hopefully you don't think that it is an unsupported product, as if you follow these forums we do try to answer all the questions as quickly as we can and try to address issues people are having. Sometimes it may take a bit of time because we personally have to simulate every problem and re-create issues in order to figure out what is going on, but we try to get back to everyone personally (these are not canned responses!) with their individual issues, and that is time consuming.

Hope I have answered your questions...and you can bet that the minute we have the library problem solved that I will be on here to let everyone know!

BTW...like your screen name!
__________________
Curtis W. Kapus

C A T H E D O T C O M
626 Delsea Drive North
Glassboro, NJ 08028

cwkapus@cathe.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:31 PM
anjali's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 6
Default Software

I'd actually be willing to pay for a working product that let me customize my workouts. I appreciate that you would like to offer it for free, but it seems the technology keeps changing too fast to keep up with.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2012, 02:22 PM
Curt Kapus's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 297
Default

For all the Lion users, I have posted an experimental version of the Workout Blender on the download page (please click the button "Mac Lion or Mountain Lion Download") at http://cathe.com/workout-blender/ . Before installing this version, it is essential to completely remove your old versions by following the instructions here: For Users with 80% Complete or Videos Not Importing Problems And please note that the instructions have changed a bit for Lion and Mountain Lion users!

This version should clear up a few of the problems with Lion, but being experimental it may introduce others! If you would like to go back to the pre-Lion version with the bug fixes (does not include the Lion-specific fixes, but does fix a couple importing problems), reverse the process by completely uninstalling the Lion version and then install the "Mac Pre-Lion" version on the Workout Blender download page.

Please let me know what you experience with it. Until the software with new libraries is released, this is about as much as we can do. Thanks!
hiho322 likes this.
__________________
Curtis W. Kapus

C A T H E D O T C O M
626 Delsea Drive North
Glassboro, NJ 08028

cwkapus@cathe.com

Last edited by Curt Kapus; 08-06-2012 at 02:40 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2012, 12:06 PM
hiho322's Avatar
Catheite
hiho322's Profile Fields
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 223
Default Very excited

Thanks, I will try this later!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2012, 05:16 PM
imamac's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you for your answer.

Haven't installed Mountain Lion yet...decided to hold off...


I would be happy to help test versions of the blender. I will try it out as soon as I get a free day... maybe next weekend...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:27 AM
hiho322's Avatar
Catheite
hiho322's Profile Fields
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 223
Default It's working it's woring it's working!!!!

I am SO thrilled! I feel like a little kid on Christmas day :-) After a couple of years of everyone else being about to use the Workout Blender, this experimental fix seems to be working on my iMac OS 10.7.4. I just did two premixes (Crossfire Extreme) and Random Burn (using the Workout Manager for the correct chapter points) and it all seems good to go. Thank you so much!!!!!

Annie
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2012, 11:46 AM
lisacohen's Avatar
Member
lisacohen's Profile Fields
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 85
Unhappy unsuccessful install

I'm using Lion and I deleted the hidden cathe folder, restarted my computer, and tried to install the new version and I couldn't get through the install. I got a message saying:
Sorry, an error has occurred. (in bold)

This application cannot be installed because the installed has been mis-configured. Please contact the application author for assistance. (in regular typeface)

__________________
Lisa
http://lisacohen.typepad.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2012, 11:49 AM
lisacohen's Avatar
Member
lisacohen's Profile Fields
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 85
Default hmmmm...

I'm going to try to check on the Adobe AIR version to see if this might be causing a problem.
__________________
Lisa
http://lisacohen.typepad.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2012, 11:50 AM
lisacohen's Avatar
Member
lisacohen's Profile Fields
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 85
Unhappy

I checked and had the current version of Adobe AIR installed so that wasn't the problem. Oh well. Still not able to install the new blender.
__________________
Lisa
http://lisacohen.typepad.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Copyright 1997-2013 Cathe dot Com