workout room flooring

janeybz

Cathlete
Hello everyone! I have been doing Cathe workouts for over 20 years and of course, I love them! I have been working out in my bedroom on carpet all this time. now that my kiddos have (mostly) moved out of the house, I want to make one of their bedrooms my workout room. I figure if I put a Murphy bed in there, my son can still comr and sleep there when he visits. Here is my question. My husband and I really want to get rid of all the yucky wall to wall carpet in our house - it's 20 years old as well! We live near San Antonio and it seems like most people have a combination of ceramic tile or some kind of laminate - or hard wood which would be nice, but I don't think I can afford it. I need some advice. What kind of flooring would you use for a guest room/workout room. I'm afraid the ceramic tile will be too hard on my knees and other joints. I would appreciate any advice.

Thank you!

Janey B

We have better quality puzzle mats in our workout room - your knees will thank you. I don't recommend the cheaper puzzle mats you get at home improvement stores - we had those first & there's a definite difference in quality. Puzzle mats can easily be stacked out of the way should your son come for an extended stay or even moved to a another room. Ours are over 20 years old - they have worn well except for one tile-mat where our newest cat started scratching - my other cats never bothered them. We purchased thru Great Mats but there are other vendors.