working kettlebells into rotations

workingToBeFit

Cathlete
For all you experienced kettlebell users, how often do you work them in, to say a week-long or month-long workout plan? Do you ever do them 2 days in a row? Do you sub them in for a purely weight workout, or a circuit training session, as it seems they train a lot of the body and even have a cardio effect? I just got AOS Clinic, and the Lauren Brooks first DVD should be arriving any day now [thanks to the posters here for recommending those], and I am so excited about them. I did the AOS instruction yesterday and now I have kettlebells on the brain :) I usually alternate cardio (like Cardio Fusion or kickboxing) with full-body weights (like Muscle Endurance or another of Cathe's), but I will need to change things up to work kettlebells in. So I was wondering what bell-experienced Catheites are doing with their kettlebells.

Hi Ann,

I have been working out with kettlebells for over 4 years now. I don't have a specific rotation though. I use kettlebells in a variety of different ways - in circuits, for strength and just overall conditioning. I have some dvds but usually just do my own thing with them. I mix in running, swimming and even traditional weight work (because I still love that as well). So there is a variety of ways you can work kettlebells into your rotations.

Since kettlebells are a total body strength and conditioning tool you might want to throw out the upper body/lower body mindset. Kettlebells work the whole body instead of isolating a specific muscle.

I know many kettlebell programs as set up as light, medium and heavy days. So if you want just overall cardio conditioning you can use a lighter bell for those workouts and if you want something more strength oriented use a heavier bell and go slower with the workouts.