O/T: Domestic Violence Info

Aquajock

Cathlete
As somber a topic as this is, I would like to briefly discuss it in hopes that someone somewhere here in these Cathe environs may be helped by it.

I'm a paralegal who works on domestic violence prosecution matters ranging from assaults, violations of protective / restraining orders, harassment/stalking, damage to property, terroristic threats, burglaries, interference with 911 call, and a whole host of other crimes that occur within the context of a spousal or intimate relationship. In spite of the explosion of attention, research and resources that have been devoted to domestic violence in the past 20-30 years, it is a subject that is still poorly understood, especially be victims of this kind of abuse, especially by younger women who are less experienced about the vast arrays of human behavior.

Domestic violence endurers/survivors, whether or not they are married to their abusers, often feel that they are the ones who are crazy, that the abuse is their fault, that they have to walk on eggshells around their partners, and that they are alone. They often feel isolated from friends, family and help, and social isolation is a common tactic of abusive intimate partners.