How much is too much?

maggiejean

Hi, I am 3 and a half months pregnant with my first baby. I experienced an episode of prenatal bleeding and was told (by my doctor and others) that while my workouts didn't cause the bleeding, it is a sign that I need to take it easier. The baby is fine and nothing appears to be wrong with me. I have resumed my workouts but I am not sure how much is too much. Before my pregnancy I worked out 6 hours a week doing Cathe weight workouts, step classes at my gym, and running so I am no novice to working out. However, now that I am pregnant I am more tired and winded than before. Yesterday, I did a half hour of Cathe Power Hour, and then an hour of cardio and I was so tired. My question is what is a typical workout routine for a fit pregnant woman? How many days a week and for how long? I need some guidelines so I don't overdo it and end up on bedrest! Thanks, MJ

Hi Maggiejean!

Firstly, congratulations on your pregnancy! I am 6 months along and also expecting my first - it's exciting and a little daunting all at the same time, isn't it?

I also suffered bleeding early on (mine was due to having a Rhesus Negative blood group, and was managed with a simple injection). I have had other unrelated bleeding since, and was careful to check with the hospital about whether it was still safe for me to exercise. I was advised that exercise is very beneficial and would help me in the labour process and also in my recovery afterwards, as long as I didn't exhaust myself actually doing it! I've kept this in mind and am constantly monitoring how I feel during and after exercise. If a particular workout has left me feeling over-tired, I simply modify it the next time.