Weighted Down

Stacy

Cathlete
Help! I'm at the highest weight I've ever been in my whole life and I can't seem to lose it! I used to be an aerobic instructor eons ago so fitness is not new to me. But, over the last 5 years 15 lbs has found a way to become my new buddy. To make a long story short, I've tried diet and exercise and make small progress but then get depressed and what do I do when I'm depressed....eat, of course :( Where is the willpower that used to come so easy?? I guess what I'm looking for is some much needed support and words of encouragement to break my downward emotional spiral.

Thanks guys,

Stacy

Man, oh man, do I know that feeling of total frustration. I am 30 now, and as long as I can remember I have struggled with weight. Never much, usually about 30 pounds or so, but when you're 5'3" that's enough and it can really take its toll on you. In high school, by senior year, I got myself down to 115 pounds and a size 4, I was working out like crazy and I started to binge and purge. I did it on and off for years and years. I'd stop for a year or two and then go back to it. By the time I was 20 or 21 I was heavy again and worked in bars where the late hours and constant boozing made it impossible to be healthy. Add chronic severe asthma on top of that and having no immune system strength from a lifetime of overuse of antibiotics.