teachers and others who work with the public: what do you do to stay healthy?

2tina72382

Cathlete
Help! I am a new teacher and always getting colds. I try to work out 4-5 days a week and eat mostly healthfully, and wash my hands alot. Anything else I can do to help keep me healthy?

THanks all! _tina

tina,

good luck in your first year of teaching. we all continually get sick from the children. i get the usual fall bronchitis when the weather changes and they start to get sick.

try to keep windows open for fresh air. keep your hands away from your face and off doorknobs if you can. especially bathroom doorknobs.

other than that, i take vitamins, including b and zinc. you eventually build up immunity to some of it, but the truth is, there are always new strains out there. we had 18 teachers out this past monday.

suri

wow, suri! thats alot of teachers for one day. I have already taken 4 sick days this year. eeek

but, they do give 1st year teachers more sick time, so Iguess they know its bound to happen.

Thanks for the feedback!

Laura, you take it everyday? I guess it would be ok, I think your body jsut gets rid of whatever it doesnt need, as far as the vit c goes. I'll try that :) Thanks!

I have made a concious effort not to put my hands near my face while at work. I try not to have my hand on my cheek or finger on my lips, nails in my mouth, etc..
Calee

RE: teachers and others who work with the public: what ...

Tina,
I was sick A LOT my first year or two of teaching...it really is hard to keep the germs at bay in this line of work!

A couple of things I do:
-keep anti-bacterial gels in my classroom for use by all
-avoid rubbing my eyes, etc.
-and a new strategy this year... as soon as I start to feel even the slightest twinge of a sniffle, I start taking Airborne + zinc + a multivitamin. And if need be, I also add in OJ and chicken soup.

So far, it's worked. The past two years have been my healthiest to date. (It's my 6th year of teaching.)

Good luck!