Is it okay to wear running shoes for step?

kelley111

Cathlete
Hi Cathe,

I've been having a horrible time finding shoes that do not make my feet hurt. I have a bunion on my left foot that really acts sometimes during the high impact work. I refuse to get this surgically removed until I absolutely have to. I have tried several different styles/brands of shoes. Recently I bought a pair of New Balance running shoes for my treadmill. They felt so good that I decided to try them for other cardio workouts. So far these feel better than any shoe I have tried. Is it okay to continue with these running shoes or do I need to keep looking for crosstrainers or studio shoes?

I have very small feet, so I'm limited to sneakers. I have always worn running sneakers for step ~ everything for that matter ~ and have never had a problem. I've been stepping with Cathe for about six years now.

My opinion is that running shoes would be okay. They are designed to support the foot under high-impact conditions. My understanding is that cross-training and studio shoes provide added side-to-side support and stability for all the lunge-type moves. I have shoes right now that don't give much of that, and I don't have any problems. Please note that I'm not a pro, and this is only based on my personal experience.

Thanks for the responses. That was my understanding also is the side-to-side support and stability. I have another pair of running shoes which I can't wear for cardio because I could tell there was no stabilizing of my foot, but this pair feels great.

Kelley, I wear my running shoes for practically everything, including step. I've found that some shoes don't enough cushioning in the forefoot (either that or I wear it out since I wear my shoes so much). I use a cushioning toe pad (that you can get from dance supply websites) or those blue metatarsal gel cushions (stocked in the feet section of grocery stores). Both options have really helped.