Hi Cathe!! Question about thigh size

wiggie

Cathlete
I read an article that said if your thighs measure more than 20 inches you should wait until they slim down to do weight work & depend on cardio to work them. What do you think?

Hi wiggie - I'm not Cathe but can give you my personal experience. My thighs used to be 26" in circumference when I was doing only cardio. When I started lifting heavy weights they shrank to about 22". Whenever I ease up on the weights, within a month or so I have another inch back on. I love cardio and do it 5X per week - I think it helps keep the layer of fat down all over my body. But to really tighten up, I rely on weight training.

Stebby

Thanks Stebby! I guess I should keep lifting & go heavier. My thighs are my problem area. How long did it take to shrink your thighs & how many times a week do you work them?

I think it was about 3-4 months - after I got serious and started increasing my weights it wasn't immediate -it was at least 2 months before I started noticing any difference in the appearance of my legs, but then it came pretty quickly. I do legs twice a week and am pretty consistent - sometimes it's part of a full-body workout such as STS Total Body or Muscle Max or a non-Cathe workout, and sometimes it's legs only such as one of the STS lower body workouts, Gym Style Legs, Pyramid Lower Body or a legs premix from 4DS. I go reasonably heavy too - for example 40-60 lbs for squats (depending on the workout).

Everybody is different though - I've seen others on this forum who have gotten great results from lifting heavy, and others who do better with other styles of workouts where you work your legs almost every day with light weight or body weight. A lot of people have said they have really leaned out their legs through running too.

Stebby