Getting back into fitness career after 10 year "layoff" - wish me luck!

stephl

Cathlete
I'm kind of scared! I was a Personal Trainer, Group Fitness Instructor and Nutrition & Weight Loss Consultant for abour 6 years prior to having my son - 10 years ago! After being a SAHM and living abroad during the past 10 years, we are now resettled back in the States (1 year now!) and I am getting ready to re-enter the fitness field. I'm taking the ACE Personal Trainer certfication in April. I was previously certified as an ACE Personal Trainer, ACE Group Fitness Instructor, ACSM Certified Personal Trainer, and ACSM Health Fitness Instructor. I worked full-time as a trainer and was one of the top trainers at my health club. So, I certainly had the knowledge and experience 'back in the day.'

While I am excited to be getting back into my career, I am also anxious. Do I still have it? Will I be able to find a job, much less clients? I am a reasonably fit (but working to get much fitter and leaner) 39 year old average suburban mom. There are a couple new big health clubs opening in the next several months in my area, which I am going to apply with. There are also lots of already established clubs. I just want a part-time job - somebody hire me!

So, am I delusional, or will I be able to re-enter the field and be successful?

Wish me luck w/ that, and the ACE test - I am totally studying my butt off. Had a lot of the material in college and grad school, but that was a long time ago, LOL!:eek:

RE: Getting back into fitness career after 10 year

Good luck!! You can do it! I passed the ACE Group Fitness Intructor test back in November and found out I was pregnanct a couple weeks later.

I'm hoping I get to actually get to use the certification some time after the baby's born. :)