For those who use flax

julier

Cathlete
I bought some flax seeds which I intend to grind as I go along. Do you keep the seeds in the refrigerator or just the ground flax. How long can you keep it ground? TIA

Julie

The seeds will last quite a while out of the refrigerator, but even longer if refrigerated, so I usually keep them refrigerated. Ground flax doesn't last as long as whole before startiing to go rancid, but it lasts longer than the oils. If it's refrigerated, I'd say a little under a week (maybe more, but it's nice to have as fresh as possible). I usually grind about 1/2 cup at a time (whatever my grinder will hold) and keep it in a Rubbermade plastic container.

Thanks Kathryn - I'll do the same. Since I'm new to this, can I ask you how much you are currently taking daily?

Julie

When I sprinkle it on oatmeal, I use about a tablespoon. But lately, I've been eating cereal and drinking Silk enriched soy milk that contain it already, so I haven't used the ground stuff for a while.

I found a great "coffee" grinder at Zellers department store here in Toronto. It's made by Westinghouse. It's white, has a top loading canister of clear plastic where you pour in your seeds and has a front clear plastic canister to catch the grinds as they come out of the machine.

You just have to load the top feeding canister about once a week, then grind individual servings every day.

And it's only about $15-$20 Can.

PURRRFECT!

Patricia

I use between 1 and 2 heaping tablespoons of the ground stuff (freshly ground in a coffee grinder each time I use it, and stored in the freezer while whole) but I don't eat it every day, maybe 3-4 times a week. I also eat walnuts, hemp oil in salads and pumpkin seeds as other sources of Omega 3s.