One year ago today....

KeliJean

Cathlete
I had brain surgery.

As I lay in the critical care unit of Johns Hopkins hospital, I wondered what the future would bring.

I started exercising 12 years ago, when I lost 50 pounds. Last year, I began to have problems with balance, vision, and hearing. My right leg became weak. I was diagnosed with a rare brain condition, and was admitted to the hospital for surgery.

After the surgery, I could barely walk. With the help of my physical therapist, I graduated from holding onto walls, to a cane and crutches. Some days I crawled around the house. Sometimes I just lay on the floor and cried. The doctors hinted I should apply for disability. Months went by, and I became weaker. I lost muscle and gained weight. I started to feel depressed, as my once active life was gone.

Then on the internet, I found a group of video exercisers, and they were talking about Cathe. So I started lurking here in September 2002. I was so inspired by all of the posts, that I dreamed of getting better, and I was filled with determination to succeed.

Maybe I could lift weights? I could not do cardio then, but I started with Power Hour and never looked back. At first, I could barely do the warmups (with no weights). Following Cathe's excellent instruction, I concentrated on my form and balance. Soon I became stronger, and with each workout I progressed a little more. Weight training with Cathe changed my health, and gave me back my life. After 5 months, I started back to work part-time, and then slowly worked into full-time.

I'm 40 years old, and now I exercise for my health. I've learned to listen to my body each day, and decide what is best. Nutrition, exercise, and rest are the key to good health for me.

I am still struggling with many things, but Cathe said it's all about how you choose to react to stress.