My Success Story

GymGem

Wow....I have been a group fitness instructor for about five years. For most of those years I was overweight (183lbs 5'3"). I was at a very unhappy place in my life and was an infamous non-eater. When I did eat it was comfort foods. More often than not I was comforted by dear friends Ben and Jerry. When I removed myself from the horrible situation and got it together emotionally, I called a dear friend and personal training mentor. I took a deep breath and told him that I want to compete in a figure competion. Twelve weeks, six meals a day, cardio twice a day, weight training 4 days a week, and teaching 16 class a week later, I was 50 pounds lighter, and had 11% bodyfat....I have competed in figure competions a total of 3 times. My first show I placed 9th, my second show 5th and my most recent show, I placed 3rd!!!!!!

TarHell Mom takes my cylce class and she told me about this wonderful site. At her coaxing, here I am.....Thanks Tarheel MOM....YOU ROCK!!!!!!!

Hey GymGem!!!!

Hey folks, GymGem is my spin class instructor on Tuesday nights (and tonight she just kicked our butts every which way but loose! :p)! She does this wicked segment where we get 30 seconds to ride any way we want ("Alright, your ride!", she'll say) and then the NEXT 30 seconds we have to do what she tells us to do ("My ride now!", she'll say with this totally Cathe-like evil smile! ;)) We do this over and over and over for a lot of minutes, and when we think we're about to fall out of the saddle, she throws in a few "isolation" intervals at moderate to heavy resistance, where we have to keep our hips totally still and do ALL the work with our legs. (Sound easy? Try it!!)

I am so glad to see that she's posted her success story here for you all to read, and I'm delighted to welcome her to the Cathe Nation!!!
9.gif