bbt charting; can you help me?

jeanmarie

Cathlete
Hi! I'm new to this, and have a couple of questions!!

I usually wake up at different times throughout the week; anywhere between 5 and 6:30, (sometimes I make a fast potty break), drift in and out of light sleep or just rest until @ 6:30/6:45am; then i get out of bed and start my day;(i wish i'd SLEEP until 6:45, but that doesn't normally happen.)

When exactly should I be taking my temp? - immediately when i wake?(If so, that could be 5 one day, 6:30 the next...) I am wondering if my restless sleep will be a problem for me to get accurate charts...

anyone else have the same problem?

thanks for anyone who can help!

A great website to go is fertilityfriend.com
You do need to take your temp. at the same time everyday you wake before moving or getting out of bed for your chart to be more accurate. You could take your temp at 5am then go back to sleep, but the impt. thing is to take your temp. at the same time and try not to get out of bed when doing it. Check out the website and it will give you good info. to get you started. Good luck!

Lisa

When I was charting, I almost always awoke around 3 am to go to the bathroom. Went back to sleep and awoke around 6:30. I took my temp. at 6:30 each day I did get an accurate pattern.

Agree with pp. I used fertilityfriend (you don't have to pay anything for the basic service, but I found the membership was awesome...great forums with great advice) and set my alarm for 5 every morning. I had my thermometer on the bedstand and just reached my arm out, didn't even roll over, took the temp and went back to sleep. Good luck. (It worked for me!)

Oh, and fertility friend also has a free daily course to tell you how to interpret your chart.

Becky

In physiology class we were taught that the temp needs to be taken first thing in AM BEFORE even getting out of bed.