1st Trimester Questions.....restrictions?

Hi --
I'm just 5 1/2 weeks pregnant. This is my second pregnancy. I didn't exercise at all with my first. I've been working out to Cathe and Firm tapes for about 10 months. I've made wonderful progress in my fitness level, but I'm still overweight. (I'm 5'3" and weight about 185 lbs). I am wondering if there is anything in particular I should avoid doing? I don't do high impact workouts - so that won't be a problem. But I do like to lift fairly heavy weights at times. I know that you shouldn't lay on your back for ab work past the first trimester.

So - I guess my question mainly involves weight training - I use Cathe's PS series, Power Hour, MIS, S& H. What should I watch for in my workouts -- so that I'm getting the most out of my workouts without overdoing it?

I have already asked my doctor -- she gave me the "green light" to exercise. She mentioned that the guidelines were to keep your heartrate under 140 bpm (I think that's outdated) and not to lift weights over 20 lbs (but my son weighs 35 lbs!) These were her "general rules" but not directed to me in particular.

Thanks -
Jennifer k

Hi Jennifer and Welcome!

You are right about your OB's instructions being a little outdated (the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology is my guide)... listen to your body instead of thinking about heart rate in terms of beats per minute -- use a scale of perceived exertion where you are working slightly hard to hard... never to the point of breathlessness, though. This is really different for different women, and you'll probably find that one day you'll have tons of energy and feel great, and another you'll feel sluggish and want to quit. Most importantly, drink lots of water before, during, and after working out. You want to keep your core body temperature regulated -- especially in the 1st trimester!