Need Help Getting Back Into the Groove

melagras

Cathlete
I had been in physical therapy for several months trying to get over positional vertigo and was instructed not to lift weights or do any yoga. I was able to do cardio that didn't involve lots of spins and turns. Now that I'm finished with PT, I can't seem to get back into the groove. Its not like I was a couch potato and then decided to go full tilt with workouts before all of this happened. I had been using Cathe's workouts since 2007 and before that I worked out at my local gym.

Lower body workouts aren't as much of a challenge as upper body. I am having a hard time with any overhead moves. If I do try them, I use 3 lb dumbbells and still have the worst DOMS I've ever had in my life. Even when I tried bicep curls, I could feel my neck and shoulders tense up.

Last week, I did Cathe's Cardio & Weights and something on the right side of my chest or top of my shoulder was strained because it hurt to take off my top. I was in pain. I was able to get it under control by taking three Advil, icing it and laying on my foam roller to stretch my chest out.

I never skip the warm up and cool down.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.