Switching back to lighter weights?

Hi, Cathe,
I have been lifting weights for a couple of years now and like it immensely. I like your routines very much.
I see that the approach varies and sometimes you lift up to 50lbs (for legs), sometimes stick to as little as 8lbs (for the very legs). I see that in the first case the number of reps is smaller and the two approaches have different goals (strength vs. endurance), but still I wonder whether I can switch from heavier weigths to lighter without losing strength and muscle mass?
Maybe the question is silly, but still I'd like to know the science behind moving from lighter weigths to heavier and back.

Interesting post, and I hope you get a reply. I noticed in the X-Train leg workouts that I really "felt" the moves much better with a lighter weight.

I'd be interested too - having finished Xtrain (heavy weights for burn sets etc), I'm now starting STS, and am using lighter weights for meso 1. Am I likely to maintain my strength gains made through Xtrain?
Many thanks to anyone who can answer!

No question is ever silly Condor-the-bird!

The science behind moving from heavy to light weight (and vice versa) is called muscle confusion. We all have our goals that we'd like to focus on and sometimes that requires us to work more within one training approach over another (with just minor tweaking here and there) for an extended period of time before we switch out to something else.

But even the best program out there that matches your goals perfectly will eventually get a little easier because your muscles get good at adapting more and more quickly. So that's when you have to shock them by changing your routine around entirely. This not only confuses them to the point where they have to work (and respond) hard to figure out where your going with them but it also allows them to recover from the repetitive stress patterns that are placed on them from one specific training mode/approach.