stubborn exercise problem

s2546

hi cathe i have an exercise question that i can never resolve although i've been working out for 20 years regularly. i have all your tapes and all your dvds and use them faithfully but no matter what rotation i use,i can never lose inches around my waistline. i am very small (hips are 34") with a 27 inch waist and although i know it is genetic is there anything or rotation you can suggest to improve that area. i would so appreciate any help you can give. thank you for all your amazing, exceptional tapes!

Count me in on that question - my waistline has always been my biggest problem too. I have no trouble losing or firming in the hip/thigh area but if overweight the fat always goes to my middle first, & even when not overweight the waist is still there! Glad to know I'm not the only one! :)
Ruth

Hello, Fellow Apples!

Or, me three:). My hip to waist ratio also leaves much to be desired. But you are right, it's all (or mostly) in the genes.

Proud Apples, wink!

Genetically, I too, was given narrow hips and a thicker middle. After the baby, this situation was even more apparent. But as long as you are working out sensibly and eating sensibly, there are certain things we need to accept about ourselves.

I'm certainly not suggesting to just throw in the towel though. I'm simply suggesting to make the best improvements that you possibly can in a healthy manner. Then, when you reach a point where you are very toned, very strong, very cardiovascularly fit, and find everything on you to be as fit as you can get it, yet you still seem to notice your waist not being as in proportion to your hips, this is when it is time to accept that you look good even with a bit smaller of a hip and a bit wider of a waist.

I can tell you what I do to work with my situation and perhaps maybe some ideas will help you too.