Rest Days?

KLETCO

Cathlete
Hi Cathe,

I've been working out with Videos since 3/2003, I started with The Firm and moved up to your videos in about June of 2004. Never have I been very consistent for longer than about a 2-3 month stretch, even during those consistent times I was doing 5 days per week, usually no more than an hour video per day. I gained a bit of tone, but my eating was horrible so I really haven't lost weight.

Ok, here's my question. My rest days were the problem before. Taking one led to two, which led to three, which made me give up. I decided starting the day after Christmas to try and do a workout every day. I haven't taken a true rest day since then. I have had a couple days where I do a very short (30 minute) workout that is very light intensity, or I go for a walk for 40 minutes or so. I also had a rest day where I did just a yoga video but no cardio or strength training that day. So really I've been taking 1 or 2 of these "rest" days that aren't really rest days.

Is this ok? Can I count a yoga video or a walk as a rest day? Should I be doing nothing on that day instead? I haven't felt overly tired or in pain and I've been seeing great results - 6 pounds lost since 12/26. I'm listening to my body and for example, last week when it was time in the rotation to do Legs & Glutes, I just felt exhausted and decided it would be smarter to do yoga that day. The next day, I felt much better when it was time for Legs & Glutes.

I'm not Cathe, but IMHO doing a yoga routine only and counting that as a "rest day" is perfectly fine. You're not pushing your heart into its training zone, and you're giving your muscles a break from weighted resistance work, AND you're giving an extra emphasis to flexibility training.

I say go for it.

A-Jock