Exercise for your type

slenamond

Cathlete
Cathe:

What is your opinion regarding the "exercise right for your type" theory? Where they say certain body types should not do certain exercises because they will do little for your shape.

I am 5'1 the type that has pretty good muscle all over but mostly bottom heavy (thick thighs & butt). They say I should not step or stairstep. Well, I will NEVER give step up totally, I love it too much. However, do you think I should limit step and walk/jog more to tone down my legs? I just want to get the most "bang for my buck" timewise.
Thanks for your input! Sharon

PS Can't wait for my new tapes!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for making more!!!!!!!!!!!

Of course I am not Cathe. I am interested to see what she would say about this concept. I am a personal trainer and I think it is absolutely ridiculous. Here is why I think that. In every single muscle group in the body there are two different types of muscle fibers--fast twitch and slow twitch. Each of them are trained differently. The fast twitch are utilized for intense, powerful bursts of movement such as weight training, plyometrics, sprinting, basically anything anaerobic. The slow twitch are our cardio fibers that are used for stepping and all other forms of cardio. So you see this concept is inherently false. YOU CANNOT BUILD BIG MUSCLES BY DOING CARDIO! It just makes me so mad because as a trainer I try to promote reasonable and healthy exercise and diet programs. These people make my job so much harder because they keep perpetuating the idea that there is some magic formula that will solve everyone's problem. It is a fraud. It just goes back to the same old thing--consistent, intense exercise and a good diet.

In response to your problem areas, I have found that using tubing instead of really heavy weights for the lower body has helped a lot of my clients. Over time it has helped them to streamline their legs. It may or may not work for you but I feel is worth mentioning.