Cathe, please help me prepare for sports vacation

Golfingirl

Cathlete
Hi Cathe!

In June my husband and I will be spending a week at a golf school in Florida. This will involve six hours of instruction per day, followed by playing actual rounds of golf in the early evening. I know that golf is not a very strenuous activity, but this is a lot per day, and since I am still a novice golfer it takes me more swings to get around the course. :) I am a little concerned that my muscles won't be able to match my enthusiasm! Can you suggest how I might train so that I can get the most out of this experience? My actual golfing time between now and then will be somewhat limited, so I'm hoping my fitness routine can prepare me. I have all of your workouts (except for a few of the oldest ones), and have been using them with great results for about 2 years. I also have access to a gym. Currently I'm avoiding high impact so I'm using the cardio machines in the gym anywhere from 4-6 days per week, followed by or alternated with your weight training workouts. I'm just not sure what routine would be best to follow between now and June. I would really appreciate your advice. Thanks so much!

Martha

Hi Martha!

I received my IDEA Personal Trainer magazine in the mail a couple days ago and it contains an article called "Golfing After Total Hip Replacement". Although, I know you have not had a hip replacement, it has an outline on what Golf-Specific Muscles need to be strengthened for both upper body & lower body after surgery. The program also says that they do not recommend high-impact activity. I would be glad to send you the 4 page article and maybe you can see what muscles they feel are important to strengthen for golf??? Let me know.
Your-Friend-In-Fitness, DebbieH http://www.smilies-world.de/Smilies/Smilies_klein_1/wavey.gif If You Get The Choice To Sit It Out Or Dance...I Hope You DANCE!!!

RE: Hi Martha!